holonoob.blogg.se

Reboot mac command line
Reboot mac command line












reboot mac command line

This is also a much faster fix than a full restart. This was evident from running uptime from the terminal to see the total running time of the system has been preserved. Can I repair my Mac hard disks without using fsck Yes, you can also use Disk Utility to repair a hard drive on your Mac. It seemed to fix my troubles and my system was never taken totally down. When fsck is finished checking and repairing the filesystem, type reboot into the command prompt and press Enter.

reboot mac command line

If you try this for whatever reason, you may notice that the network and other items are started back up. The shutdown command takes other arguments, so you can customize how you want to reboot. If you just want to reboot your machine using shutdown, use the -r flag: sudo shutdown -r. Both of these commands have the same arguments.

reboot mac command line

Now, I just typed "exit" and the machine exitted from single user mode and the Window Server started back up. The reboot command is a front end for the shutdown command. This topic has 1 reply, 2 voices, and was last updated 1 year, 7 months ago by brotech. Trying to execute the command /etc/NX/nxserver restart. To verify this, I ran top while in this state, and counted only about four (4) processes running. Trying to execute the command /etc/NX/nxserver restart. Unless you have modified your system radically, 'sudo shutdown now' will in fact drop you down to single-user mode. The halt command shuts the system down completely. Rather, it brings the system down to "single user mode." As I understand this, most everything is stopped and the system is in essence stripped down to its bare bones. Under Mac OS X, the shut down command shuts down the window server and all the daemons.

#Reboot mac command line mac os x

I learned that the shutdown ('sudo shutdown now') command in Mac OS X does not actually bring the system down as it does in certain Linux systems I have used. I became fearful that my whole system was on its way down, so I thought I would try something. I was experiencing a number of problems one morning.














Reboot mac command line